Understanding Projects

Projects are containers for your locations. They exist within your brand. They group logical sets of locations into one. 

You may invite users to projects - they will automatically be added to locations that are created. If you remove a user from a project, they lose access to the locations within their project.

Use Cases

You're a small operator (with high hopes of TWD)

You operate a small WiFi business and provide services to small businesses and franchises. One of your customers, Bob's Cheese Straws, wants to give his manager access to all the locations within your dashboard.

Without using a project, you would need to invite the manager to each location. This is ok for a few sites but it's boring inviting them to each one.

Here's how you can do it super quick:

1. Create a new project - you can call it bob-cheesy-treats. The name must be lowercase, with no spaces or special characters.

2. Add your locations to the project - there is a section in the settings for each location

3. Ask Bob's manger to sign-up if they haven't already. Or, invite them to a single location if you want to do it for them.

4. Once you can see them in your list of users, head over the the Project settings (use the API until this is completed). Then invite them to the project.

Just like standard Location Invites, you can choose what kind of user they are and what permissions they have. You can choose from the following roles:

  • Admin - full read write access over all the locations within the project.
  • Editor - can update the splash pages only
  • Supporter - can update all the network and device settings, but not the splash pages
  • Observer - read only - can see it all but can't save 

You're a vendor (and have already achieved TWD)

You want to invite users to your dashboard who only have access to manage their own locations.

There are two ways:

1. Allow them to sign-up directly. By default, they will be assigned a project. 

2. Create them manually. Again, a project will be created for them (unless you set a project_id) in the request.

Option 1 - direct sign-up

They sign-up via your brand (this feature is expected Q4 2016). A location will be created for them. Within the dashboard, they can only see their own location.

They have permission to create locations within this project and they are permitted to create new projects. 

Please note, this feature will be implemented in Q4.

Option 2 - manual user creation

You create the user via the API. A project will be created for them.

You send the user their credentials - they login and are able to create locations within the project.

They can also create new projects within your brand - you can control this behaviour in your brand-settings. Please note, this feature will be fully implemented in Q4 2016.

Common Questions

What happens if a user doesn't exist?

If you invite a user to a project and that user isn't part of your brand, they will be invited and an account created for them.

They will receive an email with details about how to set their password.

What permissions do they have?

You decide - if you create a project user with the admin role (100) they can manage all your locations.